Couch to 5K

20120701-194055.jpg

I am unfit. Seriously unfit. And I loathe to admit it, overweight. There said it!

I really don’t enjoy exercise or sports of any kind, but more than that I really don’t enjoy how I feel about my body at the moment. It’s sluggish and difficult to dress. It’s my fault that I’ve let myself become lazy and it’s my fault that I let my sweet tooth dictate what I put in my mouth.

You’d think being married to a personal trainer I’d have no problems in the weight department! He’s a great help and is the most supporting and considerate person I’ve met, but I find it impossible to speak to him about my size issues. I think it’s because I’m embarrassed that I’m not the slim girl from 7 years ago anymore.

I want to lose the weight for him, but mostly I want to do it for me, for my health and self-confidence.

So I’m starting the Couch to 5K plan, a complete beginners guide to running designed to get you up from your couch to running 5K in 9 weeks, the sessions break down to 3 a week, the first consists of a 5 min brisk walk to warm up, then alternates of 60 seconds jogging and 90 seconds walking for 20 minutes. I think I can handle that. I’ve downloaded the app on my iphone to tell me when to stop/start and have invested in some new running shoes so I think I’m good to go, just hope I can stick to it! Wish me luck! xo

11 thoughts on “Couch to 5K

  1. You can do it! Getting started is the most difficult part, I’ve found. Once you get into a habit though, you’ll find that you actually MISS not working out. (Seriously!)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

