BOOK REVIEW: Fifty Shades of Grey by EL James

Occasionally there is book that gets so much hype that it seems everyone and their dog is reading it. Take Twilight and The Hunger Games as prime examples. Fifty Shades of Grey, by EL James, has been declared the hottest (or should that be steamiest) book in the charts right now, but with good reason?

What’s it about?

Without giving too much of the plot away, for those who haven’t yet read it, the premise is this…

Good girl Anastatia Steele has her life turned upside down when she interviews the gorgeous billionaire Christian Grey for her university paper. They soon embark on a twisted love affair and Ana is introduced to the world of BDSM (That’s bondage, discipline and sadism masochism.) Christian is the type of man who get’s what he wants, when he wants it… but will he get Ana?

What I thought…

I thought the story had an interesting concept and it made a change from my usual reading list, I also liked the short snappy chapters, as I felt I could read a chapter before work and feel like I accomplished something!

There were a few things which irked me, mainly the transformation of Ana, who seemingly overnight went from an immature virgin, with a complete lack of interest in clothes and makeup, to finding her inner sex goddess and reducing the charming Mr Grey to a quivering wreck by biting her bottom lip. Continuously. And don’t get me started on Christian’s mummy issues!

Overall, the book felt a bit safe. I’m not saying it wasn’t raunchy because it was, but I didn’t believe for one second that Ana could actually come to harm from Mr. Grey. (Too much vanilla and not enough Rocky Road!)

Themes that got me thinking…

How much should we change to suit our partners?

Where do we draw the line between experimentation and abuse?

Who I’d recommend it for…

Young adults (over the consenting age maybe) and beyond. It’s a little naughty in places, so maybe one to read covertly on Kindle, that said it’s funny watching people’s reactions when they read over your shoulder!

It’s a good holiday read, as the plot is easy to follow and leaves nothing too strenuous to mull over, which carries through on the other installments of the book, (50 Shades Darker and 50 Shades Freed.)

I’ve heard rumours that Bret Easton Ellis is adapting the screenplay, which would be amazing as his work (in my opinion) are masterpieces, I think he would be the perfect person to take this story up a notch!

Which books are on your summer reading list? Can you recommend me something to read next? Have you read 50 Shades? What was your opinion?

xo, Hannah

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

