BOOK REVIEW: About Last Night by Adele Parks***

 

Stephanie and Philippa have been best friends for over 30 years. Pip, a gregarious and scatty-headed character,  has always been looked after by the more organised and dependable Steph. That is until their friendship is put to the ultimate test, when Steph begs Pip to give her an alibi to the police; to protect her family from not just one scandalous secret, but two.

I need you to say that I was with you…

The story centres on friendship and tests how far you would be willing to go, to help a friend.  It makes you ask yourself where you would draw the line on telling white lies? And do we really know those closest to us?

I found the book easy to follow, it had enough twists in the plot to keep my attention engaged.  It also had a heavy focus on the narrative, which I personally enjoyed, but suspect that it may not be to everyone’s cup of tea, especially those who prefer more dialogue over third-party narration. That said, I found it perfect poolside reading, nothing to strenuous to mull over whilst drinking cocktails mid-afternoon!

The characters felt real and you couldn’t help but want to like them. Such as Pip, who (I constantly wanted to yell at throughout the book for her shoddy decision-making,) showed glimpses of vulnerability that was deeply endearing.  I had a minor problem with the way Parks wrote her other characters, such as a young girl called Kirsten who was depicted as a gold-digging, sex kitten and not much more. And any empathy we were to feel for  Steph *SPOILER ALERT* following the revelation of her husband’s affair, was thwarted by the news, that she herself participated in, if not a physical, then certainly an emotional affair with Subhash. Yet overall I felt there was enough pace and grit in the text to overlook these negatives.

Having never read any of Park’s work before, I found her attempts to address the issues of the modern woman interesting and feel she presented them in a new way. If you find yourself at a loose end one rainy afternoon and like chick-lit, then I’d recommend giving this a go.

xx

NEXT BOOK REVIEW: Fifty Shades of Grey by EL James

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: About Last Night by Adele Parks***

  1. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed my latest book. The lovely wizards at google tipped me off about your review so I thought I’d pop by and say a BIG thankyou for spreading the word.

    Happy reading

    Adele

    twitter @adeleparks

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

