International Women’s Day 2012

Today is International Women’s day, a day to celebrate the inspirational women in your life and the ones who have helped shape it, whether it be female writers, actors, politicians or activists.

I often think I am lucky to have been born female in the time and country that I have. Whilst I may have the odd grumble about sexism and the disadvantages of being a girl, I am also aware of how fortunate I am. A couple of decades ago my life would have been hugely different, no higher education prospects, no opportunity to forge my own career, not being allowed to vote, the list goes on. For other girls this is still a reality, in some countries today women are still under these restraints, not allowed to date or do the simplest things such as own their own home, open a bank account or even drive a car. I cannot understand the ideology behind this way of thinking. Nor can I see why this is accepted by others.

I continue to be awed by the female body. The way it can create and sustain a new life, carry it and nurture it before delivering it into the world. The physical acts of pregnancy and childbirth are nothing short of incredible. I look forward to experiencing them myself one day and if I’m lucky enough to ever have a daughter I hope to teach her to be independent, confident in her own skin and courageous enough to help other women step towards the freedom I sometimes take for granted.

The theme of this years Women’s Day, is ‘connecting girls and inspiring futures’. Women’s rights have come a long way, especially in countries like the UK, but there is still a lot more work that needs to be done.  One of the things I’d like to do personally is sponsor a girl’s education and I’ve decided to stop thinking about it and get on with actually doing it, through www.worldvision.org Maybe then that girl can grow up in a slightly better world than what it is for her today.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

