New Beauty Finds

As one of my previous posts mentioned, I’ve been bulking up my makeup kit recently. Purchasing a few more necessities and investment buys. Here’s a run down of what I’ve bought this week…

Image

Image

Bobbi Brown Oil Free Even Finish Compact Foundation

I’ve been suffering with a hormonal spot outbreak, especially around my chin area. (Not what I need 5 weeks before my wedding!) As my normal liquid foundations weren’t giving enough coverage and sometimes were making my skin worse, I decided to give this a go.

It comes in a lovely little compact with a mirror and sponge, which is super handy for touch ups when I’m out and about. It’s an oil free foundation too which will help minimise any more breakouts. I apply mine with a foundation brush and it goes on like silk! I’d recommend double checking the colour before you buy, as I’m normally a sand 2 shade in the Bobbi Brown range, but needed to go a little bit darker, to warm sand 2.5 for this. £29

Image

MAC Lipstick

This was my make-up bargain as MAC do a great scheme where if you return six empty items you get a free lipstick. I chose Fanfare, which is a great pinky shade. I may use it for the w-day.

Bobbi Brown: Gel Eyeliner & Brush

I use a pencil eyeliner on a daily basis, but always wanted to try the gel versions. I’d been putting it off following a liquid eyeliner disaster, but I was assured by my friends that the gel and brush variety is much easier to master.

Simply coat both sides of eyeliner brush in the gel and sweep across the top lash line, smudging with your finger as required. You need to work quickly as this stuff sets quick! The gel is £16.50 and the brush £21.00, plus as it’s a waterproof substance you also need a good makeup remover.

Here’s a close up of my eye after using it…

Real Techniques Make Up Brushes

I’ve been a fan of Samantha Chapman and her blog pixiwoo for a while now, so I was pleased to see her makeup brushes stocked in my local Boots branch. As these have had good reviews I decided to give them a try. I purchased the powder brush 1401 and the blush brush 1407 at £12.99 and £9.99 each. I was worried that the low price meant low quality but so far they’ve been great to use. The bristles are soft and the handles are light with a flat bottom, which makes them handy to stand up on my makeup shelf. I may even treat myself to the other brushes in the collection.

and here’s the final look…

Thanks for reading and sorry for the picture quality, really must buy a decent camera and stop using my phone! X

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

