Powder and Paint

If there’s one thing a brides allowed to be in the run up to their big day, then that’s vain! If we’re not obsessing over our skin, nails or hair, we’re preening, waxing and reading about the latest beauty products. I know I’d do anything to look like one of those girls in the bridal mags!

I’ve started my bridal cleanse by firstly drinking stacks of water, it’s the cheapest and fastest way to clearer skin! And im also giving  my face some much needed tlc. A facial here and some microdermabrasions sessions there should help keep my skin smooth and glowing. I may even book a few full body massages in the run up to w-day. (Well if there was ever an excuse?!)

I had a bit of a makeup overhaul this week, chucked out anything which may be past its use by date and really went back to basics. I really would like to expand the contents of my makeup bag with some investment pieces, so I’ve made an appointment for a makeup tutorial with my local Bobbi Brown makeup counter. I always judge which counters to use by how orange the makeup girls are and I’m glad to report that the Cardiff Bobbi Brown girls have flawless makeup everytime I see them.

Here’s the main bulk of what’s in my bag now…

(I apologise in advance for the pictures. They were taken on my trusty iphone and as you can see I’m definately not a photographer… but you get the picture)

♥ I’m a huge Chanel foundation fan. I struggled for ages to find the right colour foundation for my skin tone. (Im quite olive skinned.) I use the Chanel No.40 Perfection Lumiere liquid foundation and it gives such good coverage.It’s  great if I’m having a spot outbreak. Another good thing is that it’s one of those brands where a little goes a long way.

♥ When it comes to lipstick I love me some Bobbi Brown, my two to recommend are Guava 89 a lovely blood orange shade  and Pink 6, which is a really vibrant coral shade of the pink spectrum. They really last all day and seem to stay put after a few glasses of wine too! Bobbi Brown also do a little pot of blusher which can double as lip balm too!

♥ A makeup must for any girl is Yves Saint Laurent’s Touche Eclat, hands down the best invention ever. Its amazing for banishing dark circles under the eyes. I also use it as a concealer.

♥   As you may have guessed im a sucker for bronze and golden eyeshadows, I have loads! Maybe I should experiment with a few other shades…

♥   I also keep a hand creme with me such as L’Occitane shea butter, I just love how it smells and my hands are always so smooth after I use it.

Next on the list…

Come pay day there are a two things that I’d like to purchase to bulk out my kit.

MAC Prep & Prime Beauty Balm

One of which is the MAC Prep and Prime beauty balm which promises to re-texturise the skin and help create a smooth base to apply foundation.

Bobbi Brown Brush Makeup Brushes

And the second is a full set of professional makeup brushes. They really do make a difference and whilst they may be a little pricy (the Bobbi Brown ones are £139) they when looked after well last for years.

So tell me, whats in your makeup bag? Anything I should be buying? I’d love to hear your suggestions x

One thought on “Powder and Paint

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

